Lease Termination Notice

Lease Termination Notice Requirements

All rental agreements and leases should contain information about how much notice is required to terminate. This table shows the amount of time a landlord or a tenant needs to give other other person in order to lawfully terminate a rental agreement or lease. The table also shows how much notice is required to raise the rent.

STATE TENANT LANDLORD STATUTE COMMENTS
Alabama 10 Days 10 Days Ala. Code §39-5-3 Notice required to increase rent No State Statue on the amount of notice required to increase rent
Alaska One month One Month Alaska Stat. § 34.03.290(b)
Arizona 30 Days 30 Days Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §33.1375
California 30 Days 30 Days Cal. Civ. Codes 1946
Colorado 10 Days 10 Days Colo. Rev. Stat. §38-12-202 No State Statue in the amount of notice required to increase rent
Connecticut 1 Month 1 Month No Statue
Delaware 60 Days 60 Days Del Code Ann. Tit. 25, §5107
District of Columbia 30 Days 30 Days D. C. Code Ann. §45-1402
Florida 15 Days 15 Days Fla. Stat. Ann. §8357 No State Statue on the amount of notice required to increase the rent.
Georgia 30 Days 30 Days Ga. Code Ann. §47-7-7
Hawaii 28 Days 45 Days Haw. Rev. Stat. §521-71
Idaho 30 Days 30 Days Idaho Code §55-208 to increase rent or change tenancy Landlords must provide 15 days notice notice to increase rent
Illinois 30 Days 30 Days No Statue
Indiana 30 Days 30 Days Ind. Code Ann. § 32-7-1-3
Iowa 30 Days 30 Days Iowa Code Ann. § 562A.34
Kansas 30 Days 30 Days Kan.Stat.Ann. § 58-2570
Kentucky 30 Days 30 Days Ky.Rev.Stat. Ann § 383.695
Louisiana 10 Days 10 Days La.Civ.Code Ann.art.2686 No State Statue on the amount of notice required to increase rent
Maine 30 Days 30 Days Me.Rev.Stat.Ann.tit 14§6002
Maryland 30 Days 30 Days Md. Code Ann (Real Prop.) § 8-402
Massachusetts 30 Days 30 Days Mass. Gen.laws Ann.Ch.186 § 12
Michigan 30 Days 30 Days Mich.Comp. Laws Ann. § 554-134
Minnesota 30 Days 30 Days Minn.Stat.Ann.§ 504.06
Mississippi 30 Days 30 Days Miss.Code.Ann § 89-8-19
Missouri 30 Days 30 Days Mo. Ann.Stat.§ 441.060
Montana 30 Days 30 Days Mont.Code Ann. s 70-24-441
Nebraska 30 Days 30 Days Neb.Rev.Stat. § 76-1437
Nevada No Statue No Statue No Statue Landlords must provide 45 days notice to increase rent
New Hampshire 30 Days 30 Days N.H. Rev.Stat.Ann. § 540.3
New Jersey 30 Days 30 Days N.J. Stat. Ann §§ 46:8-10
New Mexico 30 Days 30 Days N.M. Stat Ann s 47-8-37
New York 30 Days 30 Days N.Y. (Gen Oblig.) Law § 232-b
North Carolina 7 Days 7 Days N.C. Gen. Stat § 42-14 No State Statue on the amount of notice required to increase rent
North Dakota 30 Days 30 Days N.D. Cent.Code § 47-16-15
Ohio 30 Days 30 Days Ohio rev.Code Ann § 5321.17
Oklahoma 30 Days 30 Days Okla. Stat. tit. 41§ 111
Oregon 30 Days 30 Days Or.Rev.Stat. § 91.060
Pennsylvania 30 Days 30 Days Pa.Stat. Ann. Tit 68 § 250.501
Rhode Island 30 Days 30 Days R.I. Gen. Laws § 34-18-37
South Carolina 30 Days 30 Days S.C. Code Ann § 27-40-770
South Dakota Mutual consent notice of parties Same S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-32-22 Landlords must provide  one month’s notice to increase rent
Tennessee 30 Days 30 Days Tenn.code Ann. § 66-28-512 Landlords must provide 60 days notice to increase rent
Texas 30 Days 30 Days Tex.(Prop.)Code Ann § 91.001
Utah No Statue No Statue No Statue
Vermont 30 Days 30 Days Vt.Code Ann Tit. 9 § 4467.4456 Landlords must provide 60 days notice to increase rent
Virginia 30 Days 30 Days Va. Code Ann § 55-223
Washington 30 Days 30 Days Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 59.04.020
West Virginia 30 Days 30 Days W.Va. Code §37-6-5
Wisconsin 28 Days 28 Days Wis.Stat. Ann.§ 704.19
Wyoming No Statue No Statue No Statue
  • Tenant Alert
  • Landlord Association - IntelliCorp - Background Checks
  • What should I be paying for rent?
  • What should you charge for rent?